Odisha Geological Service Association (OGSA) was established in the year 1990

Recognised by Govt. of Odisha vide Home Department Letter No. 43803 Dt.31.8.1998

Home  |  Contact Us  |  Downloads


 Ask the Expert Text

OGSA has proposed restructuring of the cadre for better management of the mineral exploration scenario in the State of Odisha.

Download document


The Silver Jubilee and 25th Annual General Body Meeting of OGSA was held at Hotel Suryansh, Bhubaneswar on 31st October and Directorate of Geology, Odisha, Bhubaneswar on 01st November 2015.  Sri P K Mallick; Hon'ble Minister, Steel and Mines, Government of Odisha graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.  Sri R K Sharma,IAS, Principal Secretary, Steel and Mines Department and Sri Artatrana Dash,  Director of Geology attended as Guests of Honour.


Following office bearers were elected for the

Annual Session 2015-16.


A K Raut


Vice President

B C Sahoo


General Secretary:

Sri S Mishra


Joint Secretary (Hqrs)

Manoranjan Behera


Jt Secretary (Org)

Md Q J Khan



K Nayak


Secretary (Technical)

D Sharma


Please send your suggestions and articles for newsletter to info@ogsa.in


Now, join our very own group on Facebook.


Click here.


Follow us on Twitter

Tweet using @OGSA3



AGB 2014 Photographs on Facebook




AGB Dias 2015.JPG

OGSA celebrated the Silver Jubilee and Annual General Body Meeting on 31.10.2015 and 01.11.2015


Download Minutes of the AGB 2015


The aims and objectives of the Association are:

§  To promote solidarity of profession and to diffuse useful knowledge and goodwill among its members

§  To promote and cultivate the best interest of profession

§  To protect and safeguard the interest, right , privilege and dignity of its members

§  To improve the service conditions of its members

§  To promote academic and cultural activities among the members by keeping in touch with similar societies and eminent personalities


Odisha Geological Service Association (OGSA) is the association of the officers of the ‘Geological Survey and Exploration Wing’ in the ‘Odisha Mining and Geology Service’ Cadre.  The members constitute the Technical Officers of the Directorate of Geology, Odisha.




During the 1950s after the merger of the feudal states, Odisha’s mineral administration was carried out by 3 mining circles with headquarters at Baripada, Barbil and Sambalpur under the control of the Board of Revenue.


A separate Directorate was created in the year 1955.  Survey and Investigation activities were the responsibility of a skeleton unit of two officers. Commensurate with the need for systematic survey and assessment of mineral resources and augmentation in mining revenue through increasing exploitation of minerals and ores, subsequent period covering 2nd to 8th Plans witnessed significant mineral development activities and augmentation in the Geological Survey and Mineral Administration setup.


The Directorate of Mining and Geology emerged as a vibrant and model organisation in the country and it was declared as a Senior Head of Department.  It functioned under the administrative control of the Department of Steel and Mines, earlier named Department of Mining and Geology.


The State Government framed the ‘Orissa Mining and Geology Service Rules’ in 1976 to regulate recruitment to various posts and the conditions of service of persons appointed to the Odisha Mining and Geology Service.  The service consisted of 3 wings namely ‘Mineral Administration’, ‘Geological Survey and Exploration’ and ‘Chemical Analysis’. Chemical Analysis was reckoned as a subsidiary wing.


Since the framing of Odisha Mining and Geology Service Rules in 1976 and consequent to the expansion in the activities of the Directorate of Mining and Geology, a number of posts have been created under the three wings.


Significant changes were made in the setup of the Directorate of Mining and Geology since 10 November 1996 following the creation of an Ex-cadre post of ‘Director of Mines’ and re-designation of the post of ‘Director of Mining and Geology’ as ‘Director of Geology’.  This finally resulted in the creation of two separate Directorates namely ‘Directorate of Geology’ and ‘Directorate of Mines’.